Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Central European String Quartet

 Central European String Quartet
Summary:String Quartet Competition
Deadline: 01 October 2018
Date Posted: 12 September 2018
Details: Central European String Quartet's
1st International Composition Competition

The Central European String Quartet announces an exciting international composition competition in 2018 to support and promote a new work of a talented and deserving composer!

For the application form, please click here.

Conditions of participation:
• Composers of all ages and nationalities may participate.
• It is possible to apply with multiple pieces.
• Freshly composed string quartets (two violins, viola, cello) lasting between 4 to 10 minutes are acceptable. Works should not have been published or performed in public.
• The theme this year is "the lark". Although it is not a requirement, preference will be given to works containing this theme.
• Electroacoustic music is not allowed.
• The jury reserves the right not to award all prizes.
• Ties may also be awarded.
• Winners will be announced by 10 October 2018.
• The decisions of the jury are final and may not be contested.

Application and fees:
The application must be sent by 1 September 2018 to:

40 EUR or 12.000 HUF per composition, paid via PayPal by clicking here. All fees must be paid by the applicant. Alternatively, it is possible to pay the application fee by bank transfer. Please send an email to receive instructions and details.

Late applications will be accepted between 2 September and 1 October 2018, for an additional fee of 10 EUR or 3.000 HUF per composition (total fee of 50 EUR or 15.000 HUF).
The application fee is non-refundable.

The application must include ALL of the following materials:
• PDF file of the score of the string quartet the applicant is applying with (full score as well as parts)
• Proof of payment of the application fee
• The scanned application form (printed and signed)
• The applicant’s resume in English or Hungarian
• Publicity photograph
• Scanned copy of personal ID or passport

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

1st prize: 120.000 HUF
The winning composition will be premiered and performed in at least three concerts at important venues (*such as the Hungarian Radio's Marble Hall or the Liszt Academy of Music's Solti Hall) by the Central European String Quartet, in Budapest, Hungary, during the 2018/19 season. More venues to be announced soon!

*venues subject to change

2nd prize: 35.000 HUF

3rd prize: 25.000 HUF

Special Prizes:
• "Support Excellence Award" (Generously offered by the "Support Excellence" Association)
• "Jury Prize": 15.000 HUF
• "Lark Award": 15.000 HUF
• Further special prizes to be announced

Note: Winners need not be present to receive their monetary awards and diplomas. However, the winner of the 1st prize is invited and encouraged to attend the premiere of his or her work.

(Members of the Central European String Quartet)
Miranda Liu – violinist (USA)
Mαtι Soσs – violinist (Hungary)
Haruka Nagao – violinist / violist (Japan)
Judit Szabσ – cellist (Hungary)