Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

outHEAR New Music Week 2018

 outHEAR New Music Week 2018
Summary:Symposium and Master Class in Composition
Deadline: 24 August 2018
Date Posted: 11 July 2018
Details: Symposium and Master Class in Composition

Ensemble in residence:
String quartet of the Ensemble Klangforum
Visiting artist:
Hannah Walter, violin/viola

Open to all composers
Application deadline: August 24th, 2018, 11:59pm
Announcement of result: September 1st, 2018

The OUT HEAR New Music Week 2018 is happy to announce a Call for scores and proposals to participate in a Symposium and Master Class in Composition on December 12th to 16th, 2018, lead by our ensemble-in-residence, String quartet of the Ensemble Klangforum in collaboration with our faculty Clemens Gadenstδtter, Dimitri Papageorgiou, and Orestis Toufektsis.


1. Eligibility

• The Call for Scores is open to composers of any gender, age and nationality.

2. Submission

• Submit compositions for string quartet (vn1, v2, va, vc) without electronics.
• Submissions must be original compositions, not arrangements.
• Although the duration of the submitted work is free, works with a duration of 12 minutes or less will be more preferable.
• Submissions are not anonymous.
• Compositions must have been composed within the last five years and may have already been performed.
• Multiple submissions are accepted.

3. Application Fee

• A non-returnable entry fee of 12€ is required for each submission.
• Payment can be made to the following bank account:
IBAN: GR91 0171 7830 0067 8311 6310 135
Account Name: Dimotiko Odeion Larissas (Municipal Conservatory of Larissa)
Address: Blanas Square (Laou), Larissa, P.C. 41221, Greece
• In the transaction description, please, write: OutHear New Music Week 2018 Call for Scores
• Contribution fees must be sent in euros.
• Participants are asked to attach copies of bank transfer receipts.
• Participation fees are non-refundable

3. Items to submit:

• Computer notated score and parts in PDF format.
• A short resume of the composer.
• Demo recordings are welcome but not necessary. Please, submit via a link to Dropbox, Soundcloud, or other external hosting site.
• A copy of payment of the application fee;
• Click HERE to start the submission process

4. Deadline

• Submissions will be accepted through August 24th, 2018. All submissions must be received by 11:59 PM (UTC+2:00 Athens) on August 24th, 2018. Winners will be announced by September 1st, 2018.

5. Selection

Two groups of composers will be selected

• Group A of composers will be selected for their works to be rehearsed, discussed, and performed at the final concert.
• Group B of composers will be selected for their works to be rehearsed, discussed, and read-through.

6. Tuition Fees

If selected, there is a tuition fee including hotel accommodation (single room) for the duration of the symposium and master class

1. Group A = 400€
2. Group B = 300€

7. The Jury

• Dimitri Papageorgiou - composer and artistic director of OUT HEAR New Music Week, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
• Orestis Toufektsis, composer and artistic director of OUT HEAR New Music Week, University of Music and Dramatic Arts Graz
• Clemens Gadenstδtter, composer, University of Music and Dramatic Arts Graz
• The members of the Klangforum String Quartet:
o Annette Bik, violin;
o Gunde Jδch-Miko, violin;
o Dimitrios Polisoidis, viola;
o Andreas Lindenbaum, cello
• The judges will not make available any written or verbal commentary.

7. Further Information

• Participation in this project is approval of these terms and conditions.
• OUT HEAR New Music Week do not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, pregnancy, disability, creed, religion, sexual orientation, or gender identity. All individuals are encouraged to apply.
• OUT HEAR New Music Week will not be able to provide transportation commissioning or rental fees for any composers whose work is selected for performance. Nevertheless support will be given to creators available for travel by sending off letters or invitations directed towards entities that could be helping them to cover these expenses.
• The artistic and organizing committee of OutHear New Music Week, in charge of this Call for Scores, reserves the possibility to bring changes to this bid.
• The processing of personal data provided by the participants is based on principles of correctness, lawfulness, transparency, and privacy protection – especially regarding the participants themselves. All processing is done once files are received for the purpose of the composers’ participation.
• For any additional information, please contact OutHear New Music Week assistant, Marily Ventouri, at