Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive


Summary:String Quartet Competition
Deadline: 15 August 2018
Date Posted: 12 April 2018

We announce the IV edition of “FLORENCE STRING QUARTET CALL FOR SCORES”, an event promoted by Associazione Artes in cooperation with Studiomusica Hungary Interational Artists Agency.

The event wants to offer to international composers an opportunity to compare themselves and to meet composers with different background and aesthetics. The final aim of the call for scores is to promote the knowledge and the diffusion of today’s music through the performance and the publication of the selected scores.

1. The Call for Scores is structured in two stages: ELIMINATORY and FINAL

An international jury composed by
M° Andrea Portera (Italy);
M° Xiao Hu (China);
M° Rita Ueda (Canada);
M° Andreas Lucas Beraldo (Switzerland);
will choose n° 4 (four) scores that will be performed in the final stage of the call for scores in a public performance;

2. FINAL STAGE: the final phase will consist in a public concert that will be held on Saturday September 22 2018 in the Teatro di Cestello in Florence;

The four selected scores will be published by Impronta Edition Mannheim;

The concert will be recorded and published by Centro di Musica Contemporanea Milan in “XXI Century Archives” series.

The jury of the final stage is composed by:
M° Marco Tutino (Italy, President of the jury);
M° Péter Mező (Accord Quartet, Hungary);
M° Massimo Polidori (Quartetto d’archi della Scala, Italy)
M° Andrea Portera (Scuola di Musica di Fiesole, Italy);
M° Jan Miłosz Zarzycki (Witold Lutoslawsky Chamber Philarmonic, Poland);

The jury will assign the following prizes:
• Performance of one piece (new commission or already existing piece) during the next season of Witold Lutosławski Chamber Philharmonic in Łomża (Poland);
• Performance of one piece (new commission or already existing piece) during the next season of La Scala Quartet (Milan);
• Performance of one piece (new commission or already existing piece) during the next season of Accord Quartett (Budapest);
3. The call for score is opened to all composers, without nationality or age limitations;
4. The scores must be written for string quartet (2 violins, viola, cello) and must have a duration between 5 and 15 minutes;
5. The scores must be unpublished until the day of the concert. The pieces can nonetheless have been performed before if not published;
6. Each participant can send at most 3 scores. The application fee is €75,00 for the first score and €25,00 for each of the others;
7. The scores must be anonymous, without any identity sign, but they will be marked with a “motto”, that will allow to identify the composer;

The scores must be sent by e-mail to the address:, object “STRING QUARTET 2018”, attaching scores in PDF or JPG format (max 10 mb). The files must be named with the same motto marked in the scores. As body of the e-mail the participant will indicate name, surname, motto, title and duration of the scores, contacts (address, mobile, …). The organization will guarantee the anonymity of participants;

The payment can be sent through Bank Transfer or Paypal (in this case plus 5% commission fee).