Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

string quartet Competitions & Call for pieces

Summary:Works for String Quartet
Deadline: 30 August 2019
Date Posted: 03 July 2019
Details: The Gipuzkoa provincial authority together with the Basque-Navarrese composers' association “Musikagileak” is organising the 15th "Pablo Sorozabal" International String Quartet Composition Competition. The aim of the competition is to foster composition for string quartets by encouraging younger composers to write original works.

- The competition is open to composers of any nationality or origin born after 1st January 1984.

- The composition must not last more than twenty minutes.

- The deadline for entering scores expires on 30th August 2019.

- There is a single prize of 3,000 euros net plus an accreditative diploma.

- The winning score will be premiered in the contemporary music series at the 81st Musical Fortnight in San Sebastián and subsequently included in the 11th “Musikagileak” Contemporary Music Circuit.

- Contact and complementary information through the email address

 New Work in Just Intonation: Call For Proposals
Summary:Works for String Quartet
Deadline: 01 September 2019
Date Posted: 03 July 2019
Details: Proposal for a new work in Just Intonation for String Quartet

The Del Sol String Quartet has worked extensively with composers whose works explore tuning outside of equal temperament. We believe there is an under-explored world of tonality and expression outside the world of 12 tones within an octave. Composers like Ben Johnston, Terry Riley, Michael Harrison, Lou Harrison, Harry Partch, and Theresa Wong have inspired us - we strongly believe we need more music that taps into this world.

Please see guidelines below.

Early Submission: August 1, 2019, 11:59PM PST ($10 Submission Fee)

Deadline for Submission: September 1, 2019, 11:59PM PST ($20 Submission Fee)

Please submit the following form for your proposal for a new work in just intonation for string quartet.

This is open to composers of all ages who consider themselves “emerging.”


Early submission deadline August 1, 2019 at 11:59PM PST.

Submission deadline of September 1, 2019 at 11:59PM PST.

The winner will be selected by October 1, 2019.

Winning proposal piece us due to the quartet by January 1st, 2020.

Pacific Pythagorean Music Festival February2020

You will be asked to submit:

-a short bio (250 words)

-two work samples (work samples do not have to be in just intonation)

-why you want to write for this project (250 words)

-brief project proposal (50 words)

The selected commission will have:

-a premiere on the second annual Pacific Pythagorean Music Festival in San Francisco in February 2020

-workshop sessions with Del Sol Quartet leading to premiere

-cash prize of $1000.

Submission fee of $10 by August 1; $20 by September 1.

Find the form to to submit HERE.

Need to pay your submission fee? Do it HERE
Entry Fee:$10-20

 Krzysztof Penderecki International Composers’ Competition ARBORETUM 2019
Summary:String Orchestra Competition
Deadline: 01 September 2019
Date Posted: 22 May 2019
Details: RULES

Terms and Conditions

§ 1. Preliminary provisions
1. The competition is open to composers of all ages and nationalities.
2. More than one score per composer is permitted.
3. The competition will be held in two rounds: preliminary selection of the compositions and the final concert.
4. Within 14 days of the announcement of the results of the first round, the Participants selected by the Jury for the second round are required to sign a license agreement with the Organisers which will contain information on the scope of the license granted to the Organiser as stated in § 7.

§ 2. Subject of the Competition
1. Only compositions for string orchestra, consisting of maximum 5 vn I, 4 vn II, 3 vl, 3 vc, 1 cb with conductor will be considered.
2. Use of tape and live electronics is not permitted.
3. Duration: from 8 to 15 minutes.

§ 3. Jury
The Jury will comprise persons designated by the Organiser. Chairman of the Jury, Juror of the 2nd round: Prof. Krzysztof Penderecki.

§ 4. Awards
1. Founders of the prizes:
ITM Poland Sp. z o.o., The Mayor of Radom
2. The following prizes may be awarded to finalists: 1st prize – 30000 PLN
2nd prize – 10000 PLN
3rd prize – 5000 PLN
3. The chairman of the Jury has the right to change the arrangement, number and amount of prizes and awards on the stipulation that the total fund for prizes and awards cannot be higher. Decisions of the Jury are final and not subject to any appeal.

 Sorodha Composition Competition 2016: String quartet
Summary:String Quartet Call
Deadline: None
Date Posted: 04 November 2015
Details: Sorodha is proud to announce the fifth edition of its annual composition competition.

For this festive edition, we welcome compositions for string quartet and have the utmost pleasure to be able to work with the Tana String Quartet on this occasion. Their leader, Antoine Maisonhaute, was one of our judges last year, and this year they all join us as performers.

The submission deadline is Monday 29th of February 2016, and the entry fee is € 10,00.

The jury will select five works, which will be executed at a public concert on Saturday 23rd of April 2016 by the Tana String Quartet, after which the jury will award two prizes (€ 1,000.00 and € 500.00).

The winning piece will be performed by the Tana String Quartet at the Académie du Festival d'Aix-en-Provence on the 20th of July, 2016 (details forthcoming).

Please keep following checklist in mind before sending us your score:
• is your work written for string quartet (2 violins, viola, cello; no electronics, either)?
• was it originally written for string quartet?
• has is not been performed, broadcasted or prized in another competition before?
• is your score anonymous?
• will we be able to tell it apart from the others based on the title only? Ok, then; otherwise please add a motto, code or other distinctive sign.
• is it formatted as PDF file and A4 pages?
• does your second PDF file contain all the necessary data?
• has the entry fee been paid by PayPal (an extra € 1 will be charged to cover the transfer costs)?
• have you checked the time zone if filing on the last day before the deadline from elsewhere than Western Europe?

Please take notice of the fact that we cannot accept submissions by regular mail, only by email!