Latest Comps & Opps
13/3/19 ...

Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

electro acoustic Competitions & Call for pieces

 2019 NAfME Electronic Music Composition Competition
Summary:School Electronic Music Composition Competition
Deadline: 19 April 2019
Date Posted: 27 February 2019
Details: About the Competition
The NAfME Electronic Music Composition Competition recognizes outstanding compositions and highlights the effectiveness of music technology in the school curriculum. Entries will be judged based on their aesthetic quality, use of electronic media, and the power of the composition.

Association member adjudicators will select a winner in each of the following categories:
1. Grades K-8
2. Grades 9-12
3. Collegiate
• Each entrant must be sponsored by an NAfME member teacher, or be a NAfME Collegiate member in good standing.
• Compositions should be 5 minutes or less and should either be composed electronically or include electronic instruments (vocal and/or acoustic instruments may be combined with electronic instruments)
• One selected composer from each category will receive a one-year subscription to WURRLY’s software.

How To Apply
• 2019 Entry Rules and Guidelines
• The deadline for applications is April 19, 2019
• Questions? Contact: Brendan McAloon:

Summary:Algorithmic composition call
Deadline: 01 April 2019
Date Posted: 13 February 2019
Details: Call for compositions in which the parameters of generation and/or performance of the score are entrusted to an algorithmic process. Only acousmatic, live electronics and instrumental works will be considered.

April 1st, 2019


V.E.R-V. continues with the fifth rendez-vous. Emerging or affirmed artists are invited to submit original works related to the proposed concept. The event will take place in the concert hall of the Conservatoire of Venice on April 15th, 2019.

• There is no participation fee;
• only acousmatic*, live electronics and instrumental** works will be considered;
• the maximum length of the works is 8 minutes;
• the organization provides, in addition to the equipment listed below, technical assistance;
• selection criteria are based on the quality of the work and the link to the concept.


Send a single .zip file (archive) to The ZIP file must be named as follows: (Name_Surname_Title).
This shall contain:

• A short biography and contact information;
• description of the submitted work (title, year and performing roles);
• flowchart of the algorithm used;
• score (if present and needed);
• STEREO version (.wav) at 48 kHz of the proposed composition;
• single MONO audio files (.wav) at 48 kHz related to each channel for the proposed diffusion set (see “Space and speakers placement”);
• detailed tech rider.

Files that do not respect the instructions given will not be taken into consideration.

The selected files and compositions will become part of the V.E.R-V. archives and may be used for promotional purposes.
Web Site:www.veniceelectroacousticrende...

Summary:Electro-acoustic Album Opportunity
Deadline: 01 April 2019
Date Posted: 13 February 2019
Details: Have you got a great recording of your original electronic or electroacoustic composition that you would like issued on a commercially released CD?

Now is your chance with the ABLAZE Records call for Master tapes.

Submit your mastertape (digital recordings only please) to us for your chance to win a place on our ELECTRONIC MASTERS Vol. 8 CD. If our expert panel of composers and audio engineers chooses your work, you will win a spot on our EIGHTH ELECTRONIC MASTERS CD. This will entitle you to a partially subsidized commercial release of your work worldwide during 2019.

1. The works can be for any ELECTRONIC OR ELECTROACOUSTIC medium and can include instrumental or vocal resources.

2. For any works involving texts the composer must also submit proof of copyright clearance and permission for use on a commercial recording.

3. The work must be a studio (rather than a ‘live’) recording

4. Works must be fully edited/mixed to a version suitable for mastering to a CD publication

5. Works must be in digital format (WAV/BWAVE file to at least 48K sample rate and at 24 bit resolution)

6. Include notes about any performers, composer and work

What we are looking for:

1. Very high quality recordings

2. Very high quality works

3. Very high quality performances

Who is Eligible:

Any composer without restriction as to style of music, age or nationality may submit a mastertape for consideration.

Submission Deadline

APRIL 1, 2019

About ABLAZE Records

ABLAZE Records is a new Australian/USA company that issues recordings worldwide on iTunes

and through and through NAXOS of AMERICA on the Naxos Music Library. Hard copy distribution is through and SuperD OneStop. The focus of the company is on new music composition and classical music performance.

About the Prize

This competition aims to discover works of composers that have already been recorded but not yet mastered to a full and commercially released CD. Many musicians have performances of certain works recorded which they would be happy to release but may not have enough material to issue a full CD. Still other musicians may not be inclined or disposed to do the ‘business’ side of getting their work out to the public and distributed world wide. It is with the thought of assisting such composers that ABLAZE has issued its call for Master Tapes. Once we compile a range of recordings ABLAZE records will:

-Have the disc professionally mastered
-Have the disc meticulously replicated (rather than duplicated)
-Design the artwork and digital booklet
-Compile liner notes for the accompanying booklet
-Obtain all clearances and copyrights
-Complete all contracts with participants (who all retain full ownership of their work)
-Manufacture the disc run
-Distribute hard copies to Albany Music Distributors and
-Distribute digital masters to Naxos Music Library, iTunes, Amazon MP3 and other digital outlets
-Promote, advertise and seek reviews of the release

This competition is for studio or very high quality live recordings of performances of original compositions. ABLAZE will extend to all winners a partially subsidized recording. This means that our usual costs for final recorded music will be subsidized by ABLAZE so that we can offer to the winners a place on this disc at a fraction of usual costs. This is ABLAZE’s commitment to new music and we are very excited to hear your submissions. The subsidized costs to all participants are to cover the expenses of the above services such that we can ensure the highest quality product to those who have entrusted their music to us.

Entry Fee:$17

 CALL FOR SCORES 2015 – Cello and Contrabass
Summary:Electroacoustic Call
Deadline: None
Date Posted: 20 May 2015
Details: 1. Call for Narrator/Speaker/Vocalist/Actor plus Electronic Music Scores (performer and "tape")

2. Call for "tape" pieces that have explicit political meaning

Narrator/Speaker/Vocalist/Actor plus Electronic Music Scores (performer and "tape")

Composer/performer Rodney Waschka II is looking for works for narrator or actor or speaker and electronic music fixed on two channels. Works will be considered for performance on the Arts NOW Series and elsewhere. You can read a review ( by the Classical Voice of North Carolina of a concert of this type of music performed in February, 2009. Waschka has performed works by Alden Jenks, Pertti Jalava, Mansoor Hosseini, Stephen Pope, Allen Strange, Pauline Oliveros, Mara Helmuth, and others.

If you have composed such a piece or are interested in composing such a work, please contract me.

"Tape" pieces that have explicit political meaning

Pieces of this type are needed for programming for the Arts NOW Series.

Please contact me if you have a piece that you think might be appropriate.