Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

2007 British Composer Awards Winners

The winners of the 2007 British Composer Awards were announced at a ceremony in London on Wednesday. The winners were:

Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 5

Community or Educational Project
Stephen Deazley: Thrie Heids

Oliver Knussen: Requiem – Songs for Sue

New Media
Jem Finer: Score for a Hole in the Ground

Instrumental Solo and Duo
Harrison Birtwistle: Crowd

Wind Band or Brass Band
Edwin Roxburgh: An Elegy for Ur

Tarik O’Regan: Threshold of Night

Stage Works
Stephen McNeff: Tarka the Otter

Julian Anderson: Heaven is Shy of Earth

Making Music Award
Howard Jones: The Illusion of Progress

Thomas Adès: Tevot

BBC Radio 3 Listeners Award
Guto Puw: Oboe Concerto

International Award
Wolfgang Rihm: Verwandlung


We are unable to investigate the claims, professional status, or probity of any individual, organization or company listed in the CompositionToday News section. The presence of a listing here does not imply an endorsement of the company or individual listed. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy and validity of the news items displayed, CompositionToday does not assume, and hereby disclaims any liability to any party for loss or damage of any kind caused by errors or omissions from the News section.