Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

British Composer Awards Shortlitsts Announced

From over 300 entries, the 2007 British Composer Awards shortlists were announced yesterday at the Barbican Center in London:

Chamber - Brian Ferneyhough: String Quartet No. 5, Simon Holt: 4 Quarters, Patrick Nunn: Escape Velocity
Choral - Julian Anderson: Heaven is Shy of Earth, Francis Grier: The Passion of Jesus of Nazareth, Mark-Anthony Turnage: A Relic of Memory
Community or Educational Project - Stephen Deazley: Thrie Heids, Jonathan Dove and Matthew King: Hear Our Voice, Edward McGuire: Ring of Strings
Instrumental Solo or Duo - George Benjamin: Piano Figures, Harrison Birtwistle: Crowd, Jonathan Harvey: Run Before Lightning
International Award - Derek Bermel: Soul Garden, Brett Dean: Wolf-Lieder, Wolfgang Rihm: Verwandlung
Liturgical - Richard Causton: Jesu, sweete sone dear, Gabriel Jackson: Orbis patrator optime, Tarik O’Regan: Threshold of Night
Making Music Award - Howard Jones: The Illusion of Progress, Joanna Lee: whippoorwill, Martin Suckling: Mosaic
New Media - Jem Finer: Score for a Hole in the Ground, Janek Schaefer: Vacant Space
Orchestral - Thomas Adès: Tevot, James Dillon: Piano Concerto Andromeda, Jonathan Harvey: Body Mandala
Stage Works - Jonathan Dove: The Enchanted Pig, Stephen McNeff: Tarka the Otter, Lynne Plowman: House of the Gods
Vocal - David Horne: Life’s Splinters, Oliver Knussen: Requiem - Songs for Sue, David Matthews: Terrible Beauty
Wind Band or Brass Band - David Horne: Waves and Refrains, Edwin Roxburgh: An Elegy for Ur, Gwilym Simcock: Lichfield Suite

More Info...


We are unable to investigate the claims, professional status, or probity of any individual, organization or company listed in the CompositionToday News section. The presence of a listing here does not imply an endorsement of the company or individual listed. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy and validity of the news items displayed, CompositionToday does not assume, and hereby disclaims any liability to any party for loss or damage of any kind caused by errors or omissions from the News section.