Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Mikis Theodorakis wins MC UNESCO International Music Prize

Greek composer Mikis Theodorakis, 80, has been awartded the IMC UNESCO International Music Prize for 2005.

In a career that spanned nearly all of Greece’s troubled post-war history, throughout which Theodorakis played a prominent role and was repeatedly incarcerated for his political beliefs, he also managed to transform and redefine popular Greek music with works like Epitaph, Axion Esti and Romiosyni.

The prize was set up in 1975 by Lord Yehudi Menuhin and past recipients have included Dimitri Shostakovich, Leonard Bernstein, and Herbert von Karajan. Its goal is to recognise musicians of international standing who have also severd peace and understanding between peoples.

More Info...


We are unable to investigate the claims, professional status, or probity of any individual, organization or company listed in the CompositionToday News section. The presence of a listing here does not imply an endorsement of the company or individual listed. Whilst every effort is made to ensure the accuracy and validity of the news items displayed, CompositionToday does not assume, and hereby disclaims any liability to any party for loss or damage of any kind caused by errors or omissions from the News section.