Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

This is Rattle: Adès

 18 September 2017 at 7.30pm 

This is Rattle: Adès

Barbican Hall, London
Barbican, Silk Street, London EC2
United Kingdom
020 7638 8891

Guildhall Musicians

An evening of music by living composers, personally chosen by Thomas Adès to celebrate the arrival of Sir Simon Rattle at the LSO.

As Sir Simon Rattle begins his London tenure, he’s renewing his commitment to the music of living composers. In celebration, one of those composers – Thomas Adès – has chosen eight inspirational works by some of the most distinctive voices of our time.

It’s a wonderfully diverse evening too – a real ‘state of the art’ survey of classical music in the 21st century, from the concentrated poetry of Kurtág and Birtwistle to the communicative energy of Osvaldo Golijov and the late Nicholas Maw. Up close in Milton Court, the young players of the Guildhall School are the ideal team to celebrate a new chapter in British music.

Per Nørgård : Hut Ab!
Nicholas Maw : The Head of Orpheus
Judith Weir : The Alps
Harrison Birtwistle : Célan settings
Niccolò Castiglioni : Vallis Clausa
Gyorgy Kurtág : Eletut
Osvaldo Golijov : Sarajevo
John Woolrich : A Farewell
, Madness : Cardiac Arrest (arr Adès)

Review this Concert