Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Nash Inventions

 21 March 2017 at 7.30pm 

Nash Inventions

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Nash Ensemble
Chamber Ensemble in Residence
Martyn Brabbins conductor
Adrian Brendel cello
Roderick Williams baritone

The Nash Ensemble is joined by Martyn Brabbins and Roderick Williams for its annual survey of the best in British contemporary music.

Their programme includes works by Huw Watkins and Julian Anderson recently premièred by the Nash. There’s a London première for Sir Peter Maxwell Davies’s A Sea of Cold Flame, the last of his many settings of poems by Orcadian writer George Mackay Brown, two pieces by Colin Matthews, his virtuosic Fuga and a new work specially written for Roderick Williams, and another world première, Simon Holt’s wind quintet. The latter’s title, a hybrid of the Spanish words for ‘bagatelle’ and ‘cobwebs’, reflects its breathtaking lightness of touch.

Huw Watkins : String Trio
Colin Matthews : Fuga for ensemble
Peter Maxwell Davies : A Sea of Cold Flame for baritone, solo cello and string quartet
Colin Matthews : It Rains for baritone and ensemble
Simon Holt : Bagatelarañas for wind quintet
Julian Anderson : Van Gogh Blue for ensemble

Review this Concert