Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Suckling: Piano Concerto, World Premiere

 13 October 2016 at 7.30pm 

Suckling: Piano Concerto, World Premiere

Queens Hall
0131 668 2019

Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Robin Ticciati: conductor; Tom Poster: piano

Strauss once claimed that “the human soul was first revealed… in Mozart’s melodies”. Tonight’s programme juxtaposes the sparkling overture to Mozart’s Marriage of Figaro, an opera Strauss conducted many times, with a distinctly retrospective work – the charming, dance-like incidental music to Molière’s Le bourgeois gentilhomme. The programme includes a new Piano Concerto by Martin Suckling, written for the SCO, Robin Ticciati and Tom Poster. Suckling blurs the lines between soloist and orchestra, abandoning traditional ideas of the concerto as a vehicle for display for one in which “the piano sings the world into existence”.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Overture, The Marriage of Figaro
Martin Suckling : Piano Concerto
Richard Strauss : Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme

Review this Concert