Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

London Symphony Orchestra / Daniel Harding

 25 September 2016 at 7pm 

London Symphony Orchestra / Daniel Harding

Barbican Hall, London
Barbican, Silk Street, London EC2
United Kingdom
020 7638 8891

Daniel Harding conductor
Nikolaj Znaider violin
Christiane Karg soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

The only concerto Sibelius ever wrote and a vision of heaven from Mahler share the bill in Daniel Harding’s first concert of the season with the London Symphony Orchestra.

Many listeners describe Sibelius’s Violin Concerto as symphonic, with the orchestra pushing to the fore, but that doesn’t make the solo part any less demanding. Danish virtuoso Nikolaj Znaider is sure to take on the challenge with usual technical prowess and lyricism.

Well known for bringing together huge orchestral forces, for his fourth symphony Mahler decided to dial things back – by his standards at least. Taking inspiration from a set of folk poems, Des Knaben Wunderhorn, this more intimate of symphonies embarks on a journey to innocence and ends with a child’s naive vision of heaven where 'Wine doesn't cost a penny and the angels bake the bread'.

Jack Sheen : Lung
Jean Sibelius : Violin Concerto
Gustav Mahler : Symphony No 4

Review this Concert