Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Ryan Wigglesworth UK premiere

 22 June 2016 at 7.30pm 

Ryan Wigglesworth UK premiere

Snape Maltings, Aldeburgh
Snape Maltings Concert Hall,Snape,Suffolk,IP17 1SP
United Kingdom
+44 (0)1728 687110

Carolin Widmann violin
Ryan Wigglesworth conductor

Debussy’s glittering ‘symphonic sketches’, their fleeting swell and ebb, sunrise and storm here seem inexorably tied to a French lineage of voluptuous orchestral colour and musical portraiture of the natural world.
Wigglesworth’s reworking of his Aldeburgh commission for the Britten Centenary takes inspiration from the English Baroque, interspersing transcriptions of incidental music from Purcell’s forerunner Matthew Locke with his own shadowy distorted ‘doubles’. Shadows and echoes also abound in Rebecca Saunders’ arresting concerto, her trembling, hyperactive protagonist vividly, shockingly interrupted by torrents of orchestral sound before subsiding to a contemplative haunting stasis.

Hector Berlioz : Marche Troyenne
Hector Berlioz : Royal Hunt and Storm
Rebecca Saunders : Still
Ryan Wigglesworth : Locke’s Theatre
Claude Debussy : La Mer

Review this Concert