Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

 12 May 2016 at 2pm 

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

Vale of Glamorgan Festival
Vale of Glamorgan

Edwin Outwater, conductor
Madeleine Mitchell, violin

Receiving its UK premiere, Vasks’s Sala has been likened to Barber’s much loved Adagio for Strings. There is certainly a synergy: a gentle whisper of shimmering sounds that builds up to a sweeping crescendo of tense emotion, finally resolved on a note of heavenly peace. We hear it performed alongside a new orchestral work from Mark David Boden and Guto Puw’s Violin Concerto – Soft Stillness in which each movement offers a direct response to lines from Shakespeare’s The Merchant of Venice.

Mark Bowden : Ghyll
Guto Puw : Violin Concerto – Soft Stillness
Pēteris Vasks : Sala

Review this Concert