Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016) Piano Sonata No. 2 (world première)

 27 April 2016 at 7.30pm 

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016) Piano Sonata No. 2 (world première)

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Rolf Hind piano

Rolf Hind’s recital features the world première of Sir Peter Maxwell Davies’s Second Piano Sonata, a major new work commissioned by Wigmore Hall from the octogenarian composer.

Hind, an acclaimed pianist-composer, considers impermanence and transcendence in his own work Thus Have I Heard, which recalls the opening lines of Buddhist scriptural texts, reflecting the aural tradition of the Buddha’s teachings.

The programme also includes the keenly awaited UK première of Ten Studies (1984–98) by Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, who refers to his creation as ‘studies of the piano’s character or soul. A soul that has been created by all the music… written for the instrument, from its childhood until today.’

Rolf Hind : Thus Have I Heard
Hans Abrahamsen : Ten Studies
Simon Steen-Andersen : Rerendered (for piano and two assistants)
Peter Maxwell Davies : Piano Sonata No. 2

Review this Concert