Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Michael Finnissy Premiere

 16 August 2015 at 7.30pm 

Michael Finnissy Premiere

Albert Hall, London
Kensington Gore London SW7 2AP
United Kingdom

Julian Rachlin violin
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor

The Proms’ Sibelius symphony cycle continues with the concise, intricately wrought Third and the darker Fourth – once described by conductor Herbert Blomstedt as ‘an essay in trying to be happy which fails – on purpose’. These are paired with the composer’s popular Violin Concerto with Lithuanian soloist Julian Rachlin. Conductor Ilan Volkov is a passionate champion of contemporary music and here premieres a new Sibelius-inspired work by Michael Finnissy – a composer whose music, though fascinatingly complex, finds real connection with politics, society and culture.

Jean Sibelius : Symphony No. 3 in C major
Jean Sibelius : Violin Concerto in D minor
Michael Finnissy : Janne
Jean Sibelius : Symphony No. 4 in A minor

Review this Concert