Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Schubert, Luke Bedford & Bruckner

 01 August 2015 at 6.30pm 

Schubert, Luke Bedford & Bruckner

Albert Hall, London
Kensington Gore London SW7 2AP
United Kingdom

Luba Orgonášová soprano
Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano
Robert Dean Smith tenor
Derek Welton bass-baritone, Proms debut artist
Orfeón Pamplonés
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena conductor

Although composed for the church, it is in the concert hall that the dramatic scale of Bruckner’s mighty Mass in F minor comes into its own. A new commission from Luke Bedford puts the Royal Albert Hall’s great organ in the spotlight, while opening the concert is Schubert’s ‘Tragic’ Symphony – a work whose heart-on-sleeve emotions are those of a composer still in his teens.

Franz Schubert : Symphony No. 4 in C minor 'Tragic'
Luke Bedford : Instability
Anton Bruckner : Mass No. 3 in F minor

Review this Concert