Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Delius, Nielsen, Hugh Wood & Ravel

 22 July 2015 at 7.30pm 

Delius, Nielsen, Hugh Wood & Ravel

Royal Albert Hall, London
Kensington Gore, London SW7 2AP
United Kingdom
020 7589 8212

Mark Simpson clarinet
BBC Symphony Chorus
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sir Andrew Davis conductor

Afternoon heat breeds musical languor in a Prom that drifts from Deliusís summer garden to the classical landscapes of Ravelís lovers Daphnis and Chloe. Former BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist Mark Simpson is the soloist in anniversary composer Nielsenís intimate, playful Clarinet Concerto. Hugh Woodís Epithalamium is a new cantata that delights in John Donneís sensuous and jubilant verse.

Frederick Delius : In a Summer Garden
Carl Nielsen : Clarinet Concerto
Hugh Wood : Epithalamium
Maurice Ravel : Daphnis et Chloe Ė Suite No. 2

Review this Concert