Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive


 23 April 2015 at 7.45pm 


Covent Garden - Royal Opera House
Covent Garden, London
United Kingdom

Pierre-André Valade conductor
Claire Booth soprano
Netia Jones director and video artist
London Sinfonietta

Written more than two and a half thousand years ago, the beauty of Sappho’s lyric love poetry continues to cast a spell over composers. With Atthis, a setting of Sappho’s fragments, Haas said he wanted to write ‘a modern Winterreise with a happy ending’. Although the texts evoke the same expressive spirit of Schubert’s masterpiece, Haas’ rich use of overtones – seamlessly blended here with lighting and video created by Netia Jones – will lure you into a brilliantly intense 21st century soundworld.

Thursday 23, Friday 24 and Saturday 25 April 2015 at 7.45pm

Georg Friedrich Haas : String Quartet No 2
Georg Friedrich Haas : Atthis

Review this Concert