Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Kaija Saariaho, Debussy and Fauré

 14 January 2015 at 1pm 

Kaija Saariaho, Debussy and Fauré

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Jacqueline Shave violin
Caroline Dearnley cello
Huw Watkins piano

Kaija Saariaho conjures sonic images of magnetic force in her music, while the power of suggestion and gifts of lyricism, colour and rhythm of the French composers Fauré and Debussy result in soundworlds that are both luminous and dazzling.

In this programme we hear one of Debussy’s finest chamber works and Fauré’s profound Piano Trio in company with Saariaho’s Nocturne for solo violin.

Kaija Saariaho : Nocturne
Claude Debussy : Cello Sonata in D minor
G Faure : Piano Trio in D minor Op. 120

Review this Concert