Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Mozart, Pēteris Vasks and Smetana

 09 December 2014 at 7.30pm 

Mozart, Pēteris Vasks and Smetana

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Artemis Quartet

The Berlin-based Artemis Quartet, founded 25 years ago at the Musikhochschule in Lübeck, stands today among the world’s leading chamber ensembles.

Its commitment to new music is boldly stated with Pēteris Vask’s Fifth String Quartet, a two-movement exploration of the conscious states of presence and distance influenced by the Latvian composer’s compassion for ‘a world tortured by grief and contradictions’.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : String Quartet in G K387
Pēteris Vasks : String Quartet No. 5
Bedøich Smetana : String Quartet No. 1 in E minor ‘From my life’

Review this Concert