Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Piano Project 2014 with Dylan Christopher

 23 October 2014 at 7:30pm 

Piano Project 2014 with Dylan Christopher

Swinburne Hall
Swinburne Hall, Colchester Institute, Sheepen Road, Colchester, CO3 3LL
United Kingdom
(01206) 712999

Dylan Christopher (piano)

An evening exploring contemporary piano music for aspirant pianists. Dylan Christopher will perform new works, by composers from Colchester and beyond, which are designed to give learners an exciting and accessible introduction to today's music for the piano. Presented in association with the Colchester New Music composers' co-operative.

Dylan Christopher completed his undergraduate music studies with honours at Colchester Institute, where he studied piano with Australian pianist Lesley Young, and composition with Dr Mark Bellis. In 2009, Dylan won the prize at Colchester Institute's Canon Jack Award for Solo Piano adjudicated by Andrew Ball. He was awarded 2nd place in The Roy Teed Cup for Composition in 2010 adjudicated by Vincent Lindsay-Clarke. An avid musician, Dylan has played in master classes with pianists Victor Sangiorgio and Lin Lin Tao, and showcased compositions to Philip Cashian, Ian Clarke and Jeffery Wilson.

Colin Blundell : Dylan Number One
Alexander Blustin : Snowflakes
Liam Carey : Nothing new
Sarah Cattley : Lament of the cactus
Sarah Cattley : Fives and Fifths
Sam Cave : By Fumbling, Found
Louis Johnson : Chant: The Pillar of Angels
Elspeth Manders : Andalusian Dance
Tony Matthews : Distant Visions (from Minitures suite)
Tony Matthews : Edgy Displacement (from Minitures suite)
Janet Oates : Landlisches Lied
Jenni Pinnock : Rains
Gareth Price : Seventh Heaven
Gary Randall : The Lincolnshire Hills
Ed Scolding : …open above me…
Juan Maria Solare : Dodeca-Mambo
Tim Torry : A Rustic Dance
Julia Usher : Computer Keyboard (from Computer Suite)
Julia Usher : Ghost in the Machine (from Computer Suite)
Julia Usher : Solitaire (from Computer Suite)
Bob Ward : Sonata (Movement II)
Barnabas Yianni : Air Suite

Review this Concert