Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Mozart, Beamish, Cashian

 03 July 2014 at 11:00AM - 1:00PM 

Mozart, Beamish, Cashian

Pitville Pump Room, Cheltenham

United Kingdom


Mozart and Machines could be the subtitle to this intriguing programme of music for wind instruments. Beginning with arrangements for wind quintet of works that Mozart wrote originally for mechanical organ and glass harmonica, it ends with the beloved Serenade for 13 winds (well, actually 12 winds and double bass). Philip Cashian’s rhythmic, witty work takes its inspiration from another mechanical curiosity, Settala’s Machine, a 17th century mechanical devil.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Andante for mechanical organ (arr. Cashian)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Adagio for glass harmonica (arr. Beamish)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Adagio/Allegro for mechanical organ (arr. Butler)
Philip Cashian : Dectet ‘Settala’s Machine’
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Serenade No 10 ‘Gran Partita’

Review this Concert