Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Elliott Carter, Colin Matthews, Thomas Ades and more

 20 June 2014 at 7pm 

Elliott Carter, Colin Matthews, Thomas Ades and more

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
Alexandra Wood violin, viola
Ulrich Heinen cello
Anthony Robb flute, alto flute
Stuart King clarinet, bass clarinet
Malcolm Wilson piano

Since its formation in 1987, Birmingham Contemporary Music Group has given the world première performances of over 150 works and brought many other scores to life in the UK.

The ensemble’s Wigmore Hall programme includes chamber works by BCMG’s two Artists-in-Association, Oliver Knussen and John Woolrich, together with pieces by other composers central to contemporary classical music’s development. Elliott Carter’s piano trio Epigrams, first performed by BCMG at the 2013 Aldeburgh Festival, is introduced to London, framed by Colin Matthews’s Berceuse for Elliott, written shortly after Carter’s death, and Hans Werner Henze’s hauntingly beautiful serenade for violin, cello and piano, Adagio adagio.

Oliver Knussen : Upon one note
Gerald Barry : Aeneas and Dido
Peter Maxwell Davies : Unbroken Circle
Tansy Davies : Undertow
Aldo Clementi : Berceuse
Philip Cashian : Caprichos
Hans Werne Henze : Adagio Adagio
Elliott Carter : Epigrams
Colin Matthews : Berceuse for Elliott
John Woolrich : In the Mirrors of Asleep
Thomas Ades : Court Studies

Review this Concert