Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Scelsi, Helmut Lachenmann, György Kurtág and Julian Anderson

 15 May 2014 at 7.30pm 

Scelsi, Helmut Lachenmann, György Kurtág and Julian Anderson

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Arditti Quartet

The Arditti Quartet celebrates its fortieth anniversary, catching the diversity and expressive range of works created over the past half century.

Giacinto Scelsi’s music, with its highly original soundworld and mystical qualities, has been championed worldwide by the Ardittis since the 1970s. They open the programme with the Italian composer’s Fourth String Quartet of 1964, a ten-minute study in microtonality and formal symmetry, before exploring Helmut Lachenmann’s white-hot deconstruction of Gluck’s ‘Dance of the Blessed Spirits’.

The second half includes the world premičre of a major new work by Julian Anderson, Wigmore Hall’s second Composer in Residence, distinguished by its luminous textural and tonal contrasts and irresistible rhythmic energy.

Giacinto Scelsi : String Quartet No. 4
Helmut Lachenmann : String Quartet No. 2 ‘Reigen seliger Geister’
Gyorgy Kurtág : Officium breve Op. 28
Julian Anderson : String Quartet No. 2

Review this Concert