Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Kronos at 40

 13 May 2014 at 8pm 

Kronos at 40

Barbican Hall, London
Barbican, Silk Street, London EC2
United Kingdom
020 7638 8891

Kronos Quartet

San Francisco's Grammy Award-winning Kronos Quartet continues its tradition of storied Barbican appearances in this one-of-a-kind 40th-anniversary celebration.

The evening features commissioned works by favourite composers and collaborators from throughout Kronos' history, including a UK premiere by Philip Glass and world premieres of pieces by Bryce Dessner (guitarist of The National) and Jarvis Cocker.

Ukranian singer and composer Mariana Sadovska also joins Kronos on stage for the UK premiere of her composition, Chernobyl.The Harvest. A piece for one voice and string quartet, based on ancient-ceremonial music of norhtern Ukraine and contemporary sound scales, it is a 'pagan requiem' which uses the nuclear catastrophy of Chernobyl as a starting point to experiment with distruction and creation of musical structures and stories.

Terry Riley : The Serquent Risadome
Philip Glass : String Quartet No. 6
Bryce Dessner : 40 Canons
Jarvis Cocker : NEW WORK
Mariana Sadovska : Chernobyl. The Harvest

Review this Concert