Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Heart of Darkness

 23 April 2013 at 7.30pm 

Heart of Darkness

Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace, London, SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom

Nicholas Collon, conductor
Samuel West, narrator
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

A heady mixture of new music and established classics, this concert combines two renowned masterworks with the London première of the Suite from Tarik O’Regan’s recent opera, Heart of Darkness. Inspired by Joseph Conrad’s novella, O’Regan’s opera has already met with great acclaim for its ‘music of startling beauty’ (The Observer) and ‘a magical and haunting sound-world’ (The Telegraph).

Elgar’s Cockaigne Overture is a vibrant celebration of London, depicting a couple exploring the metropolis, enjoying sounds from church bells to a brass band. The Second Symphony by Sibelius is one of his most engaging and beautiful compositions, overflowing with exhilarating orchestral textures.

Box Office: 020 7730 4500

Edward Elgar : Cockaigne Overture
Tarik O'Reagan : Suite from Heart of Dearkness for narrator and orchestra
Jean Sibelius : Symphony No.2

Review this Concert