Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Olivier Messiaen: Quartet for the end of Time

 22 November 2012 at 8pm 

Olivier Messiaen: Quartet for the end of Time

Turner Sims, Southampton

United Kingdom

Netia Jones/Lightmap video design
John Constable piano

Landmarks is the London Sinfonietta's new series of chamber concerts, featuring performances of seminal music combined with short video interventions setting a context for the composer, the work, and its impact on the musical and cultural life of the 20th century. The first subject is Olivier Messiaen and his Quartet for the end of Time, premiered in a prisoner of war camp in 1941 where the composer himself was incarcerated.

At this performance, the ticket price includes a complimentary drink after the concert.

The London Sinfonietta are proud to be Associate Arists at Turner Sims, Southampton.

Olivier Messiaen : La Colombe
Olivier Messiaen : Plainte Calme
Olivier Messiaen : Theme and Variations
Olivier Messiaen : Quartet for the End of Time

Review this Concert