Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Colin Matthews, Schumann and Mozart

 14 November 2012 at 7:30pm 

Colin Matthews, Schumann and Mozart

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

Elias String Quartet

Mozart fashioned his Clarinet Quintet for Anton Stadler, a great Viennese wind player and fellow Freemason. The score periodically places the clarinet centre stage while generally treating the instrument as an equal chamber music partner. This concert opens with the world première of a new work, specially written by Colin Matthews for the Elias Quartet.

In creating string quartets, Schumann observed, ‘the composer must possess an intimate knowledge of the genre’s history, but should strive to produce more than mere imitations of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven.’ He followed his advice to brilliant effect in the third of his Op. 41 quartets, displaying inventive ingenuity throughout.

Colin Matthews : String Quartet No. 4
Robert Schumann : String Quartet in A Op. 41 No. 3
Wolfgang Mozart : Clarinet Quintet in A K581

Review this Concert