Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Brahms, Jonathan Dove and Elgar

 11 November 2012 at 7:30pm 

Brahms, Jonathan Dove and Elgar

Wigmore Hall, London
36 Wigmore St, London W1
United Kingdom

The Schubert Ensemble

In this fitting programme for Remembrance Sunday the Schubert Ensemble performs Elgar’s warm, autumnal Piano Quintet, written at the end of World War I, together with Brahms’s deeply personal Piano Quartet No. 3, with possibly the most gorgeous slow movement in the repertoire. These late romantic masterpieces contrast vividly with Jonathan Dove’s sparkling and energetic Piano Quintet, written for the Ensemble in 2009.

‘…they demand superlatives’ Sunday Times

‘…outstanding in every respect’ Guardian

Johannes Brahms : Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor Op. 60
Jonathan Dove : Piano Quintet
Edward Elgar : Piano Quintet in A minor Op. 84

Review this Concert