Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

EIF: Emerson String Quartet

 01 September 2012 at 11 am 

EIF: Emerson String Quartet

Queens Hall
0131 668 2019

Emerson String Quartet

The Queen’s Hall Series concludes with one of America’s finest string quartets, famed for its impeccable technique, assured musicality and dramatic spontaneity.

In a wide-ranging programme, the Emerson String Quartet contrasts two late masterpieces from Mozart and Beethoven with a fresh work by one of Britain’s leading composers, Thomas Adès, which the players premiered last year.

Beethoven’s Opus 127 Quartet is the first of his so-called ‘late quartets’, in which the composer explores hitherto uncharted depths of intense spirituality. Its music touches on the profoundest emotions, with melodies of great lyricism and ineffable beauty.

Mozart’s Quartet K575 is a sprightly, glittering piece with a prominent cello part written for the Prussian King Wilhelm Friedrich II to play. The vivid sound pictures of Adès’s The Four Quarters evoke night time, dawn and daytime in virtuosic music, including an unforgettable movement describing a shimmering cascade of raindrops.

‘one of the most impressive of American string quartets.’ (New York Times)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : String Quartet in D K575
Thomas Ades : The Four Quarters
Ludwig Van Beethoven : String Quartet in E flat Op 127

Review this Concert