Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Contemporary Classics 1

 14 September 2012 at 3:30PM 

Contemporary Classics 1

Kings Place
90 York Way, London, N1 9AG
United Kingdom
020 7520 1440

Mark van de Wiel clarinet
London Sinfonietta

This concert combines a 20th century chamber music classic along with other contrasting and complementary chamber pieces.

Bartók’s Contrasts was written in 1938, commissioned by jazz clarinettist Benny Goodman and incorporates a number of Hungarian and Rumanian folk melodies. Lutoslawski’s Dance Preludes for clarinet and piano is similarly based on folk melodies, this time from the north of his native Poland. London-based composer Simon Holt’s Brief Candles is an evocative set of eight miniatures for solo clarinet. London Sinfonietta Principal clarinet Mark van de Wiel features as soloist.

Simon Holt : Brief Candles (for solo clarinet)
Witold Lutoslawski : Dance Preludes
Béla Bartók : Contrasts

Review this Concert