Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Contemporary Classics 2

 14 September 2012 at 4:45PM 

Contemporary Classics 2

Kings Place
90 York Way, London, N1 9AG
United Kingdom
020 7520 1440

Mark van de Wiel clarinet
Jonathan Morton violin

Igor Stravinsky’s output varied hugely over his lifetime, and The Soldier’s Tale (1918) dates from the early Russian phase after the composer had made a huge impact with his early ballet scores including Petrushka and The Rite of Spring. The original piece is a musical, narrative and dance composition which tells the story of a solider making a deal with the devil. This arrangement for three instruments was made by Stravinsky in 1919, and includes five numbers from the longer original for seven players.

Stravinsky's Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet also date from the same time, and are dedicated to Werner Reinhart, a supporter and patron of Stravinsky’s and a fine amateur clarinettist. Oliver Knussen’s Secret Psalm was written as a memorial piece to Michael Vyner, the artistic director of the London Sinfonietta until 1989. The concert will be introduced by the players, who will demonstrate how these contemporary classics work.

Igor Stravinsky : Three pieces for solo clarinet
Oliver Knussen : Secret Psalm for unaccompanied violin
Igor Stravinsky : The Soldier's Tale (1919, trio version)

Review this Concert