Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

European Union Youth Orchestra at EIF

 23 August 2012 at 8 pm 

European Union Youth Orchestra at EIF

Usher Hall

European Union Youth Orchestra

Gianandrea Noseda Conductor

Garrick Ohlsson Piano

Edinburgh Festival Chorus
Christopher Bell Chorus Master

The exceptional young players of the European Union Youth Orchestra take on one of the largest and grandest piano concertos ever written. Busoni’s vast creation, with a male chorus swelling its overwhelming conclusion, is rarely performed because of the demands it places on its performers. The rich, deep sound of acclaimed US pianist Garrick Ohlsson is ideal for the piece’s vast canvas.

Conductor Gianandrea Noseda also brings his thrilling energy to bear on Debussy’s magical Nocturnes, three sound portraits of subtle shades and dazzling light. Twenty-Seven Heavens, by Richard Causton, is part of New Music 20x12, delivered by PRS for Music Foundation with the BBC, London 2012 and NMC Recordings. Special thanks to RVW Trust for making the New Music 20x12 commission possible.

‘An exceptional youth ensemble... it is among the elite institutions of its kind’ New York Times

‘The EUYO played... with such vitality and brilliance that they certainly turned heads.’ Berliner Zeitung

This concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on 11 September 2012.

Richard Causton : Twenty-Seven Heavens
Claude Debussy : Nocturnes
Ferruccio Busoni : Piano Concerto

Review this Concert