Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Edinburgh International Festival

 22 August 2012 at 8.00 pm 

Edinburgh International Festival

Usher Hall

Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst Conductor

Franz Welser-Möst concludes the Cleveland Orchestra’s account of Smetana’s Má Vlast with the powerful final movements, which depict the glories of Bohemian pride in music of blazing defiance. Shostakovich wrote his seldom-heard Symphony No 6 just after the dark years of Stalin’s purges, and the jollity of its conclusion makes a startling contrast with its haunting opening.

Compelling German pianist Lars Vogt is the soloist in Lutoslawski’s Piano Concerto, a piece full of energy and shimmering colours that proudly displays the inspiration its composer took from Chopin and Rachmaninov. It’s the perfect showpiece for Vogt’s combination of muscularity and refinement, and for the remarkable warmth and clarity of the Cleveland Orchestra’s sound.

‘The Cleveland Orchestra is one of the greatest in the world – the playing is perfection.’ The Guardian

Bedøich Smetana : Má Vlast (parts 5 – 6)
Witold Lutoslawski : Piano Concerto
Dmitri Shostakovich : Symphony No 6

Review this Concert