Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

London Symphony Orchestra / Valery Gergiev

 15 July 2012 at 19:30 

London Symphony Orchestra / Valery Gergiev

Barbican Hall, London
Barbican, Silk Street, London EC2
United Kingdom
020 7638 8891

Valery Gergiev conductor
Renée Fleming soprano*
London Symphony Orchestra

La mer is an ambient, rich depiction of the ever-changing face of the sea. Originally composed for soprano Renée Fleming, Dutilleux said while writing Le temps l’horloge (Time and the clock), that for inspiration he ‘constantly thought of her voice’s character, of her power of lyrical expression’. Shéhérazade tells the tale of how one lucky maiden saves her head night after night by keeping the sultan enthralled with her stories of Arabian legends. Petrushka is the magical story of a straw and sawdust puppet that comes to life complete with human thoughts and emotions.

Change of programme
Please note the change of programme from some early listings

Pre-concert performance
6 – 6.45pm, Barbican Hall
Guildhall Artists at the Barbican
Ravel Piano Trio performed by the Rhodes Piano Trio
Free entry

Claude Debussy : La Mer
Henri Dutilleux : Le temps l’horloge
Maurice Ravel : Shéhérazade
Igor Stravinsky : Petrushka

Review this Concert