Login   Sign Up 

Latest Comps & Opps
25/2/15 ...

Site Search.

New Members
  Joe1511 (24/2)
  giacomomut (23/2)
  manugbaro (23/2)
  Dat_Cellist (22/2)
  BenLi (19/2)

   » Full C:T Members List

Other Resources
News Archive

Listen Here! New World Symphonies – Music from America and Beyond

 22 June 2012 at 7.30pm 

Listen Here! New World Symphonies – Music from America and Beyond

City Halls

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Since the late 1800s the USA has proved to be an inspiration and a refuge for many composers. Aaron Copland and Charles Ives looked to their homeland to forge a new orchestral sound in works such as Appalachian Spring and Three Places in New England. European composers such as Bartók fled to the country never to return while Dvořák's visit at the end of the 19th century provided the impetus for his best known and most loved symphony, the Ninth.

Join the BBC SSO and its Artist-in-Association, Matthias Pintscher, for this very special two-part concert which opens the BBC SSO's 2012 Listen Here! weekend.

The first part of the concert (Ives, Bartók and Dvořák) will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3, presented by Jamie MacDougall.

Charles Ives : Three Places in New England
Béla Bartók : Violin Concerto No.2
Antonin Dvorak : Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World'
Aaron Copland : Appalachian Spring: ballet
Charles Ives : The Unanswered Question

Review this Concert

Posted by Christian Morris

< < Back < <