Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

CBSO The Year 1912: Ives and Prokofiev

 24 May 2012 at 7.30 pm 

CBSO The Year 1912: Ives and Prokofiev

Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Broad Street, Birmingham, West Midlands, B1 2EA
United Kingdom
0121 200 2000

City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Andrew Litton conductor
Lise de la Salle piano

1912: and as Charles Ives imagined what it would sound like if two marching bands collided, the student Prokofiev threw his feisty First Piano Concerto straight in the faces of his outraged professors. Andrew Litton turns up the voltage for this high-octane programme, and then goes even further, with the symphony that threw a stick of dynamite under British music. Walton’s volcanic First Symphony is always a gripping ride – hold on to your hats!

Charles Ives : Three Places in New England
Sergei Prokofiev : Piano Concerto No 1
Julian Wachner : Symphony No 1

Review this Concert