Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

The New Century: Webern & Berg

 31 May 2012 at 7.30pm 

The New Century: Webern & Berg

City Halls

Ilya Gringolts violin
Nicolas Hodges piano
Ilan Volkov conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

"The best music always results from ecstasies of logic," said Alban Berg. But he proved, time and again, that the music of the Second Viennese School could do infinitely more than that. Ilan Volkov conducts as violinist Ilya Gringolts and Nicolas Hodges - arguably the finest living champion of contemporary piano music - join 13 hand - picked BBC SSO players on the impassioned pilgrimage of Berg's extraordinary Chamber Concerto. First, though, the full orchestra explores
the ravishing, crystalline sound-world of Webern's Six Orchestral Pieces - music that Stravinsky compared to diamonds - and lays bare the sensuous and deeply romantic roots of Webern's creative vision in the exquisite Im Sommerwind.

Anton Webern : Im Sommerwind: Idyll for orchestra
Anton Webern : 6 pieces for large orchestra
Alban Berg : Chamber Concerto for piano, violin and thirteen wind instruments

Review this Concert