Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Glass at 75: Symphony No.6

 24 May 2012 at 7.30pm 

Glass at 75: Symphony No.6

City Halls

Lauren Flanigan soprano (16/03/12: please note change to originally advertised soloist)
Nicholas Collon conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

As part of the 75th birthday celebrations for Philip Glass, the BBC SSO gives the UK Premiere of the composer's Sixth Symphony, an impassioned setting of Allen Ginsberg's protest poem, Plutonian Ode, an outcry against nuclear contamination and pollution. The symphony follows an arc from outrage and condemnation to spiritual and personal transformation. Conducted by Nicholas Collon, Principal Conductor of the Aurora Orchestra, it is preceded by Richard Strauss's epic tone-poem of decay and rebirth, Death and Transfiguration.

Edward Elgar : Sospiri - for harp and string orchestra
Richard Strauss : Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration)
Philip Glass : Symphony No.6 ‘Plutonian Ode'

Review this Concert