Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Hungarians Abroad

 10 March 2012 at 7.30pm 

Hungarians Abroad

Brangwyn Hall
Guildhall, Swansea SA1 4PE
01792 475715

Conductor Roberto Minczuk
Piano Llŷr Williams

Music evoking the Eastern European plains and vibrancy of its folk culture from two Hungarians, in exile in America: the fresh lyricism of Bartók's Third Piano Concerto (his last complete work) and colourful evocation of Magyar life from one of the last century's great film composers, Miklós Rózsa. And there's music by Arriaga, the "Spanish Mozart" alongside the real thing: Mozart's majestic, final symphony, Jupiter.

Miklos Rozsa : Three Hungarian Sketches
Béla Bartók : Piano Concerto No 3
Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga : Los esclavos felices, Overture
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Symphony No 41, Jupiter

Review this Concert