Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Huapango - Modern Latin American music

 24 January 2011 at 19.30 

Huapango - Modern Latin American music

Stadtcasino, Basel
Steinenberg 14, Barfüsserplat
+41 (0)61 206 99 96

Conductor - Howard Griffiths
Harmonica - Maria Wolfsberger
Basel Sinfonietta

Programme of Modern Latin American music, including premiere of a new work by Oscar Edelstein (Argentina) "Cristal Argento I" for orchestra and electronic process.

Edelstein says, "The electronic process is like putting the orchestra into a Sonic Crystal configuration. The effect produced is like a kind of memory, playing in the zone of the dream. Paradoxically when you are in a dream, you are in the time of the desire. “

Oscar Edelstein : Cristal Argento I
Heitor Villa-Lobos : Konzert für Mundharmonika und Orchester (1955)
Heitor Villa-Lobos : Bachianas Brasileiras Nr. 8 (1944)
Arturo Márquez : Danzón No. 2 (1993)
Pigarro Pifar : Mambo(lero)? für Orchester
José Pablo Moncayo : Huapango (1941)

Review this Concert