Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

The Path Through The Woods - World Première

 10 April 2011 at 4.30 

The Path Through The Woods - World Première

Cardiff University Concert Hall
Corbett Road, Cardiff, CF10 3EB
United Kingdom
02920 878442

Recorder: Pamela Thorby
Cor Anglais: Gillian Taylor
Trumpet: Dean Wright
Conductor: Mark Eager
The Welsh Sinfonia

The final concert in the ‘Time and Place’ series includes The Welsh Sinfonia’s second commission of a new work from a Welsh composer. Rhian Samuel’s music springs indisputably from her Welsh heritage and from the Welsh landscape. This piece for Treble Recorder and Chamber Orchestra, which includes an optional section for a children’s recorder group, will be given a sparkling performance by world-class recorder soloist Pamela Thorby, who has done much to gain popular recognition for the recorder as being a ‘proper’ classical instrument. And where better to finish the series but with Haydn’s witty, but pointed, message to his employer at the end of a long season?

Rhian Samuel : The Path Through The Woods
Aaron Copland : Quiet City
Wolfgang Mozart : Symphony No 36, The Linz
Joseph Haydn : Symphony No 45, The Farewell

Review this Concert