Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Sounds Underground Concert - Alasdair Beatson and Iain Farrington

 27 February 2007 at 7pm 

Sounds Underground Concert - Alasdair Beatson and Iain Farrington

Bishopsgate Hall
Bishopsgate Institute, 230 Bishopsgate, London, EC2M 4QH
United Kingdom
020 7392 9200

Alasdair Beatson, piano
Iain Farrington, piano

Two stars of the present generation of pianists present an evening of music to sweep you off your feet. La Valse is the apotheosis of the Viennese Walz. It is, in Ravel's words, a fantastic and fatal whirling, an almost hallucinatory ecstasy, ending in nightmare. The Rite of Spring, Stravinsky's revolutionary ballet, provoked a riot at its first performance because of the uncompromising modernity of the score. In this programme the shock of the old is placed side by side with the shock of the new: the premières of dance-inspired music by Iain Farrington and Bushra El-Turk, commissioned by Sounds Underground.

Maurice Ravel : La Valse
Iain Farrington : Dance Craze
Bushra El-Turk : Metaphysical Enemy
Igor Stravinsky : The Rite of Spring

Review this Concert