Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

International Benjamin 3

 23 May 2005 at 7.45 pm 

International Benjamin 3

Queen Elizabeth Hall, London
South Bank, London SE1
United Kingdom
08700 606 096

London Sinfonietta
George Benjamin conductor
Carolin Widmann violin
Anne Marie Abildskov piano
Valdine Anderson soprano
Sound Intermedia

George Benjamin curates a series of three concerts with the London Sinfonietta and Arditti Quartet continuing his exploration of the works of a range of international composers, including new London Sinfonietta commission from award-winning composer Unsuk Chin.

In this concert the premiere of Abrahamsen's Concerto for Piano and Orchestra is followed by Grisey's hugely acclaimed and eerily prescient final work: a desolate, haunting musical meditation on death and the afterlife.

'a tender, uneasy lullaby' The Times on Quatre chants pour franchir le Seuil

James Wood : Autumn Voices
Hans Abrahamsen : Concerto for Piano and Orchestra
George Benjamin : Three Miniatures for Solo Violin
Gerard Grisey : Quatre chants pour franchir le Seuil

Review this Concert