Gold, Silver & Bronze - Cedric Peachey

Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Gold, Silver & Bronze - Cedric Peachey

Lehar’s “Gold & Silver Waltz”, composed after the first modern Olympics, mirrored a more innocent time when taking part was as important as winning. The score explores three of his waltz themes. The first movement travels back to the 20th century using electronic sounds and journeys through the tragedy of two world wars. In the second movement, a jazz sextet celebrates the new wave of superb athletes, from the first black Americans to newly liberated colonies. The last movement, for wind orchestra and percussion ensemble, evokes the disappointment of those who fail to win a medal before moving to a vigorous re-statement of the opening from Lehar’s Waltz, first heard in 1902.

This information is editable. It has been created and modified by users. If any facts are incorrect, or you would like to add or edit the information shown, please edit this page.

No recordings of this piece currently available.

No recordings of this piece currently available.
4 performances.

Forthcoming Performances
No forthcoming concerts currently listed.

Past Performances