Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

Suzanne and Lee Ettelson Composerís Award 2020

 Suzanne and Lee Ettelson Composerís Award 2020
Summary:1-5 player call
Deadline: 19 January 2020
Date Posted: 13 November 2019
Details: Suzanne and Lee Ettelson Composerís Award 2020
An award of $1,000 USD will be given for a new chamber work. The winning work will be performed in the San Francisco Bay Area during Ninth Planetís 2020-21 concert season. Award winners are expected to attend performances. Works not awarded prizes will also be considered for programming.

Composers of any age or nationality may enter. Previous winners of this award are ineligible.

Entries may be scored for one to five performers plus conductor. Performers shall be drawn from the core instrumentation of the ensemble Ninth Planet: flute/piccolo/alto flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, trombone, electric guitar, piano, violin, cello, double bass (one player each). Scoring may include one or two instruments not listed above, including voice(s) and electronics, but must include at least one member of the core instrumentation.

Examples: a string quartet is eligible, as is a trio for flute, viola and harp. A duo for oboe and French horn is not eligible, nor is a work for voice and harpsichord.

Composers may submit more than one work.

Preparing Your Entry
Submit an ANONYMOUS .pdf and streaming audio link (such as SoundCloud or Dropbox) of each score on the submission form. The submitted .pdfís and audio links must be free of names and identifying marks (including composer, dedicatee, performer, and publisher names). A non-refundable entry fee of $25 USD for one work and $20 for each additional work is due on submission. Please proceed to ONLINE INSTRUCTIONS below.

The judges are composers Daniel Godsil, Andrew Lu, Ryan Rey, Allen Shearer, and Nick Vasallo, and Nathaniel Berman, Artistic Director of Ninth Planet New Music.

Entries must be received by January 19, 2020 at 11:59 pm. The winner will be announced during March, 2020. You may reach us at if you have any questions.

Composers, Inc. reserves the right to use the concert recordings of Award recipients for promotional purposes.

To submit works, visit: