Site Search

Other Resources
News Archive

New Works Program

 New Works Program
Summary:Chamber Orchestra Call
Deadline: 10 June 2017
Date Posted: 20 March 2017
Details: 2017 Composer Program Information
With the generous support from the McKnight Foundation, the Minnesota Sinfonia is pleased to announce a call for new and unpublished (chamber) orchestral scores. Five new works will be premiered during the 2017-18 season, with composers receiving compensation ranging between $500 and $6,000 – see below.

Guidelines/Requirements for eligibility:
• The submitted work must be a new, unpublished composition that has not been performed by a professional orchestra.
• Composers must be native born or current residents of the state of Minnesota.
• The work should be between five and eight minutes long (1- 2 movements).
• The instrumentation can be no larger than the following: 1 flute (no double to piccolo), 2 oboes (no doubles to English horn), 1 clarinet (A and/or B flat, no bass or e flat), 1 bassoon, 2 French horns, 1 trumpet, 1 timpani player ( 2 drums maximum) which can include ad lib percussion (drum set and a few auxiliary instruments ), violin I and II, viola, cello and bass – no divisis for any of the strings.
• If you include ad lib percussion, it, and the timp must be playable by one person, and the percussion is not needed to give a good rendition of the work.
• The work must include the full string compliment listed above, but does not necessarily have to use all of the winds and timpani.
• The work can be an arrangement of another of the composer’s compositions, but the original piece also must be unpublished, and not have been performed by professional musicians in concert settings.
• The music must be written in a “conservative” style, appropriate for a broad mix of audience members –Avant-garde and/or experimental writing are not acceptable.
• Score must be prepared and submitted in finale 2014 or earlier, or Sibelius 7 or earlier. XML versions of Sibelius files will be required.
• All winning compositions and the individual parts must be formatted in 8.5×11” pages. Formatting instructions will be provided.
• Previous recipients of this grant program within the past five years (2012 until the present) are not eligible to enter again.
• Four composers will be the recipients of this year’s awards. One composer will receive $6,000, and the remaining three composers will share $8,500, the amounts to be determined by the Sinfonia.

Deadline for entries is September 1, 2017
Additionally, $500 will be awarded to a “young composer,” meaning any composer who meets the above guidelines, and is under the age of 19 before January 1, 2017. Deadline for entry is June 10, 2017.
All decisions are made by Minnesota Sinfonia Artistic Director, Jay Fishman, and are final.
Enquiries and submissions should be directed to Jay Fishman, Minnesota Sinfonia at or by telephone at 612.871.1701